Re: Is a Static network connection more static than Auto?

Ken Blake <[email protected]> Mon, 02 Jan 2023 07:08:55 -0700
Newsgroups alt.comp.os.windows-10,comp.periphs.printers,alt.comp.hardware
Message-ID <[email protected]>
On Mon, 02 Jan 2023 02:18:11 -0600, Char Jackson <[email protected]>
wrote:

>On Mon, 02 Jan 2023 00:21:51 -0500, micky <[email protected]>
>wrote:
>
>>Is a Static network connection more static than Auto? 
>
>Yes.
>
>>(The previous thread was called "I can't print to my wireless printer",
>>and it starts at 11/1/2022 at 6:16am ET, but after all these years, I
>>still don't know if people are likely to see a new post in an old
>>thread.  I am not likely to see it, but my version of Forte Agent is
>>from 2002.  Since I save all the posts, a new post in an old thread will
>>be many, many pages up from the page I'm looking at this week.)
>
>It's fine to save all messages, but be aware that your version of Agent
>(v 1.93) has a "1 million" message maximum per group, IIRC. Agent 2.0
>increases that to 8 million messages per group, I believe.
>
>Regardless, saving all messages doesn't mean that you have to display
>all messages. At the top of the Message List window, (the upper right
>window), you should see a pair of binoculars. Just to the right of that
>is your current Message View. It probably says "All Messages". Double or
>triple click it and the view selector will open. Select "Unread
>Messages" (or "Unread Messages with Bodies" if you don't automatically
>download bodies for each message). Now you'll see only the Unread
>messages, even the replies to really old threads, without having to
>scroll through endless read messages. You can change the view back to
>All Messages whenever you like, but that's not a very practical view.

I agree, although there are clearly many others who don't, and like it
to be All Messages.

I keep mine set to Unread and Not Ignored.


>As you read a message, it'll probably get marked as Read, since that's
>the default behavior. It'll stay in your view until you click to another
>group and come back, at which point it will be hidden.