Re: One Step Update
Ken Blake <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | alt.comp.software.financial.quicken |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
On Fri, 10 Mar 2023 12:25:05 -0800 (PST), John Pollard <[email protected]> wrote: >On Friday, March 10, 2023 at 1:50:17?PM UTC-6, Jeffrey wrote: >> On Thursday, March 9, 2023 at 11:43:08?AM UTC-6, Ken Blake wrote: >> > On Thu, 9 Mar 2023 11:57:11 -0500, Hank wrote: >> > >On 3/9/2023 11:35 AM, Ken Blake wrote: > >> > >> Running the latest version of Quicken Premiere under the latest >> > >> version of Windows 11 Professional. >> > >> >> > >> Every morning when I do a OSU, it begins with a message saying >> > >> >> > >> "The following financial institutions are transitioning to a new >> > >> connection method..." >> > >> >> > >> It lists two American Express accounts, both long closed. Both are >> > >> listed in the OSU window, but neither has its box checked. >> > >> >> > >> Short of trying to update the accounts, my only choices are to click >> > >> "Remind me next time" or to shut down OSU. I want neither but I always >> > >> click "Remind me next time," since I want to do an OSU. >> > >> >> > >> Neither account is shown on the account sidebar, but both are listed >> > >> in "More accounts." I suppose the problem might go away if I deleted >> > >> the accounts, but I don't want to do that, since I want to keep the >> > >> history there. >> > >> >> > >> How can I get rid of this (minor) annoyance" Also how can I remove >> > >> their unchecked boxes in the OSU window? > >> > >Try going to Accounts;Edit and select Display Options tab; select Close Account > >> > Done. That worked. Thanks very much. > >> If you "Closed" the account and you need it later for something you will NOT be able to reopen it (Windows). >> >> See https://community.quicken.com/discussion/7900657/how-do-i-reopen-a-closed-bank-account >> https://community.quicken.com/discussion/7923683/how-to-reopen-a-closed-investment-account-in-quicken-for-windows >> >> You might want to restore a backup and try "Hide" the account and see if that works. >> Also before you make any changes always make sure have copy of the file being changed. > >I suspect that the original problem was caused by having those old accounts that were closed in the real-world, >still Activated for downloading in Quicken. Yes. >I think that if those old accounts had been manually de-activated for downloading, >the message about the "new connection method" would not have been presented. > >Here's what the Quicken "Close Account" feature does: >- deactivates the closed account for downloading (and prevents that account from ever being re-activated for downloading) >- creates a balance adjustment transaction in the closed account to insure the balance of the account is $0.00 >- makes sure the account Display Option, "Hide in transaction entry lists" is checked for the account >- puts a small red circle with a forward slash icon alongside the account in the Account List and the Account Bar >[None of those steps cause the account itself to be hidden.] > >I have tested with "Close Account", and I personally would never use it. Other than the little red "closed account" icon, >the user can manually do everything that Close Account can do ... while leaving the account capable of being re-activated.