Re: How do I delete an invoice account item in "choose an invoice account"?
Taxed and Spent <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | alt.comp.software.financial.quicken |
|---|---|
| Organization | A noiseless patient Spider |
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
On 9/27/2023 10:53 AM, John Pollard wrote:
> On Wednesday, September 27, 2023 at 5:57:32 AM UTC-5, Taxed and Spent wrote:
>
>> Quicken Home and Business, Version R52.20, Build 27.1.52.20 Windows 10
>>
>> When trying to enter an invoice, a drop down list appears for me to
>> "choose an invoice account". One of the original two invoice accounts
>> has been deleted, and I would like to skip this step. How do I delete
>> the blank invoice account as a choice here?
>
> I created a New test file in R52.20. In that New file:
> - I created one Business checking account
> - I created an A/R account ("Customer Invoices")
> - I added the "Create Invoice" icon to the Quicken Toolbar
> - I clicked the "Create Invoice" icon in the Toolbar and was taken directly
> to the "New Customer Invoice" form in the "Customer Invoices" account
> - I exited the New Customer Invoice form
> - I created a second A/R account ("Customer Invoices 2")
> - I clicked the "Create Invoice" icon in the Toolbar and was presented
> with a dropdown to select the desired A/R account.
> Selecting either account took me directly to the "
> New Customer Invoice" form in the selected account
> - I deleted the A/R account "Customer Invoices 2"
> - I clicked the "Create Invoice" icon in the Toolbar, and was taken directly
> to the "New Customer Invoice" form in the only remaining A/R account,
> the "Customer Invoices" account
>
> I assume that is the result you would like to get ... but are not.
> Frankly, I don't have any good ideas to explain why
> you would not get the same result I did.
>
> I'm assuming that you truly "deleted" your second invoice account
> (rather than just "hiding" it).
>
> When you say
> "How do I delete the BLANK invoice account as a choice here?"
> [emphasis added], that is a bit concerning.
> If the account is really deleted,
> there should be no "blank" choice in the Create Invoice dropdown.
>
> You could try Validating (and SuperValidating).
>
I validated previously for other reasons and this issue remained.
I now see I have a hidden invoice account, and when I unhide it it
becomes a choice in the menu bar. I assume if I delete this invoice
account, the need for a selection will go away. I am now pondering if I
want to delete that invoice account or just keep it hidden again. It
would be nice if I only have one unhidden invoice account that I didn't
have to make the choice. Any thoughts?
Thanks.