Re: Removing upgrade directions for older versions
Thomas Arendsen Hein <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.bug-tracking.roundup.user |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
Hi! * John P. Rouillard <[email protected]> [20220125 03:41]: > I was working on upgrading.txt and I realized we have upgrade > directions going back to 0.3. > > I think we can delete a lot of these older upgrade instructions. > > I am considering deleting everything before the 1.4.0 release which > was done in Nov 2007. I'd recommend removing everything below "Migrating from 0.8.x to 1.0", because: 1. the extra steps to keep for 1.0 to 1.4 are not that many 2. you'll avoid thoughts like "What bad thing happened before 1.4 that warrants removal of this part of the history?" > Does anybody see a problem with that? I figure anybody that hasn't > updated in 15 years is unlikely to upgrade ever 8-). Source code > control will have the earlier documentation in case I am wrong. > > Does anybody think I should remove everything before 2010 (1.4.12), or > 2016 (1.5.1)? > > Quips, comments, evasions, questions, and answers welcome. Alternatively move everything except the upgrade from the last 1.6 stable to 2.0 to a separate file and add something like "before upgrading to 2.0 you should follow the upgrade steps to the lastest 1.x release as shown in doc/upgrading-1.6.1.txt" or something like that. Regards, Thomas -- Thomas Arendsen Hein <[email protected]> OpenPGP key: https://intevation.de/~thomas/thomas_pgp.asc (0xD45DE28FF3A2250C) Intevation GmbH, Neuer Graben 17, 49074 Osnabrueck - AG Osnabrueck, HR B 18998 Geschaeftsfuehrer: Frank Koormann, Bernhard Reiter, Dr. Jan-Oliver Wagner