RE: After upgrade from Team Coding 6 to Team Coding 7 all users have rights to change Team Coding settings and Code Collection Settings

Stephen Beausang <[email protected]> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 15:27:10 +0000
Newsgroups gmane.comp.db.oracle.toad.free
Message-ID <87842ED9F185434DBFBB6BDF630A3C2232FA3632@ALVMBXW02.prod.quest.corp>
Hello Ana,

The upgrade from 10.6 to 11 modified the user rights for Team Coding. Users with TC_ADMIN rights have the right to modify configuration settings.
The other roles are no longer used.

Since 11.0,  the TC_ADMIN role can Configure Team Coding and Edit Projects. All other users should be read only in these windows.  The TC_LDR, and TC_MGR roles are not used in TeamCoding 7.



You can remove unused roles from all the users in the Schema Browser.  Right click on the Role and select ‘Configure Grantees’.  This will bring up a list of the users and you can select who you wish to deny the rights to. (Thanks to John D for this tip)

Stephen

From: [email protected] [mailto:[email protected]] On Behalf Of Ana Roje Ivancic
Sent: Friday, February 22, 2013 9:21 AM
To: [email protected]
Subject: [toad] After upgrade from Team Coding 6 to Team Coding 7 all users have rights to change Team Coding settings and Code Collection Settings


Hi!

I upgraded the versioning in an existing database from Team Coding 6 to Team Coding 7.
I am using several versions of Toad 11 (11.0, 11.5. 11.6.1)

I am surprised to see that now, after migration:

1.       all users have rights to change Team Coding settings (Utilities-->Team Coding-->Configure Team Coding)

2.       all users have rights to edit Team Coding Code Collections (Utilities-->Team Coding--> Team Coding Code Collections)

This is not nice.
Previously in Toad 10.6 and Team Coding 6, only the TOAD administrator user account had these rights.
If I now connect to the same database from Toad 10.6 as a “regular” user (getting the warning that the Tem Coding support is a newer version), I do not have the rights to change Team Coding Settings/Code Control Groups, as it was before.
My question is:

1.       Is this change in rights the result of the migration process or is the new default behavior?

2.       Do I need to deny rights to my “regular” users with a script or I have a better option for controlling the rights?

Thanx,
Ana