Delete Project behavior
Edwin Goei <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.java.netbeans.devel,gmane.comp.java.netbeans.user-interface |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
Hi, I was working on a bug where a project cannot be deleted (http://www.netbeans.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=107000) and I'd like to propose a change in the meaning of the UI. When a user deletes a project, the IDE displays a confirmation dialog (see attached image). There is a checkbox with the label "Also delete sources...". I think a typical user would interpret this to mean "rm -rf $projectdir". And I would expect that this is the most common scenario. Either that or remove the project from the Projects Window. This is also what other IDEs I have used do. I was surprised to learn that in NetBeans it means something else and that I had to manually do this some other way which I thought was an additional hassle. I think NetBeans is trying to be overly careful here and making it difficult for the user to do what they really want to do. So the proposal is to change the meaning of the checkbox to "rm -rf $projectdir". Any comments? -Edwin
delete-dialog.png
(image/png, 12.1 KB) - not displayed