Re: Re: Delete Project behavior

Jan Rojcek <[email protected]> Thu, 28 Jun 2007 16:20:30 +0200
Newsgroups gmane.comp.java.netbeans.user-interface
Message-ID <[email protected]>
On 27 Jun 2007, at 10:28, Milan Kubec wrote:

> It's because the project is free to create anything under project  
> directory during build action after user customization and we  
> anticipate that clean action brings the project to some known  
> initial state when we know what to delete.

If the user modifies the build script, I guess it's okay to keep the  
build results there and don't delete it.

All in all I think that majority of users just want to delete the  
whole project directory. I would say we don't need to run the clean  
build before that.

For those users who created a NB project from existing sources and  
want just delete the project metadata which are stored into the  
original non-NB project directory, we maybe don't need to run the  
clean either.

> Well, it would be good, but ... we have number of project types,  
> each project type can provide own delete action with own panel,  
> because each project type might have different files to delete or  
> even do some other actions as part of delete. It would be quite  
> difficult (if not impossible) to merge this into some easy and  
> simple UI.

Maybe the whole delete behavior is too complicated unnecessarily.

-Jano