Re: Dangerous "feature?" [More Info]

"David C. Rankin" <[email protected]>
Newsgroups gmane.comp.kde.devel.quanta.user
Organization Rankin Law Firm, PLLC
Message-ID <[email protected]>
David C. Rankin wrote:
> Andras Mantia wrote:
>> On Thursday 19 February 2009, Simon Dawson wrote:
>>> My normal behaviour  is that I get two dialogue boxes appear. The
>>> first is 'Are yousue you want toremove from project?' and the next is
>>> 'Do you want to remove the files from the server as well?' so I'm not
>>> really sure why yours is not asking the second question.
>> That's the default behavior. He probably checked once the "Do not ask 
>> again" checkbox in the dialog. I'm sorry to say, but this was a user 
>> error...
>>> I can't see anything in the preferences but I guess there may be an
>>> option to do it automatically without asking - but it certainly is
>>> not NORMAL behaviour.
>> You can turn on all such warning in Settings->Configure Quanta->User 
>> Interface->Show all warning messages.
>>
>> Andras
> 
> Thanks  Andras,
> 
> 
> 	Yes, I did not have the "Show all warning messages" selected. I don't remember
> clearing though. Regardless, nothing was lost as the icons, etc.. all have
> backups, but I was just really surprised when the big delete occurred.
> 
> 	Thanks again, and keep up the great work with quanta+!
> 

Listmates,

	I just figured out how the '[ ] Don't show this message again' box got checked
and why I was so shocked when 1/2 my server was deleted on a subsequent remove
of files.

	The problem was that the [ ] box was check in a situation that had *nothing*
to do with removing files. What happened to cause the switch to get set in the
first place was that I had *renamed* a file and thinking I was setting the [ ]
box for file renames I chose the '[ ] Don't show this message again' box.

	I now understand that there are *not* two different chances to click the box,
and the situation I encountered with the rename prompt actually disable all
checks from the next time I went to *remove* files as well.

	How in the heck that dang box got checked to begin with has been bugging me
since for the past month and a half. Tonight I had added a .pdf to my project
for use in my gpu comparison page, it was originally named nvVGA.pdf, but since
it applied to MSI cards (both radeon and nvidia) I decided to rename it to
msiVGA.pdf before publishing it to my site. Low-and-behold, when I clicked
rename and changed the filename, the remove '[ ] Don't show this message again'
box appeared and the light bulb went on.

	I had never disabled the prompt on remove, I had disabled it during a rename
operation. That's what caught me by surprise because at the time all my files
disappeared, I didn't know that there was only 1 disable option in preferences
and that it didn't make a difference whether it was disabled on a rename or
remove command, all protections against the auto-delete were disable any time
that box got checked.

	I don't know how hard it would be, but it seems like the easiest way to make
sure nobody gets bitten by this again would be to simply add a
dontPromptOnRename=(0/1) and also leave the existing parameter as the
dontPromptOfRemove=(0/1). That way you can manage the propmt independently for
both rename and remove without the confusion that removing the prompt for
rename is actually removing to prompt for everything.

	(Yes, I do know that a rename is nothing more than a copy and remove, but I
sure as heck wasn't thinking about that when the rename dialog box presented
the '[ ] Don't show this message again'.

	See, even a blind squirrel finds a nut every once in a while ;-)


-- 
David C. Rankin, J.D.,P.E.
Rankin Law Firm, PLLC
510 Ochiltree Street
Nacogdoches, Texas 75961
Telephone: (936) 715-9333
Facsimile: (936) 715-9339
www.rankinlawfirm.com
lmpx.com only provides a reader for public news (NNTP) servers. It is not affiliated with the servers or forums shown here and is not responsible for the content of articles, which is written by their respective authors.