Re: Delete file or album without deleting files?
Andrew Goodbody <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.kde.digikam.user |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
On 05/09/2025 20:08, Glenn Manuel wrote: > Hi, > I want to migrate away from Lightroom, and Digikam looks like an excellent choice. > > I am experimenting with the latest version (8.7.0, in Windows 11), > importing a few folders to figure out the best way to migrate, > and to use it going forward. > > As I am learning, I would like to delete an album from the database, and re-import it > (e.g. import using a template, etc.). That is not a digikam concept. The digikam view is that of the filesystem. Changes you make to the file system will show up in digikam. Changes you make in digikam are being made to the file system. > Digikam does not seem to support that. No it does not. > Delete seems to want to delete the files (or move it to trash). Yes, you are working directly with the file system. > The documentation says Settings -> Miscellaneous has settings for what to do when a file/album is deleted, but I could not find any such setting. No there is no possibility to do what you want. > I found a post about this in the mailing list archive, > saying this is a long standing wish item. > That post is dated Nov 2011. > > Is the ability to delete from the database without deleting the files still not available? No, because that is not how digikam works. Andrew > Thanks, > -- Glenn