Re: Linux and Software Freedom
Reuben Morais <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.mozilla.ui |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <CAJV00i7+0XRBLWQh9iP81Ex6EYyQRGTP2Hz+vEVq0u3V5unTYg@mail.gmail.com> |
On Sat, Aug 20, 2011 at 5:11 AM, Ron Hunter <[email protected]> wrote: > > I don't think you can prevent the notifications, and that can be irritating. > I think such things are better saved for when the user shuts down, or > restarts, the application. On the other hand, experience indicates that if > they aren't notified of an update, some users would NEVER check, putting > them in danger from nasty exploits for an undetermined period. Other users > leave software running for days/weeks, without a restart, and they would > similarly be exposed to the above risks. This may be one of those 'damned > if you do/damned if you don't' things. > You can prevent them by choosing the appropriate settings on the Advanced panel on Preferences: http://cl.ly/9THL -- Reuben