Re: Stop making Thunderbird mark deleted messages as read
EE <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.mozilla.wishlist |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
On 2009/12/16 2:00, Pascal Sartoretti wrote: > On 16.12.2009 08:11, Herre de Jonge wrote: >> On 15/12/2009 20:22, EE wrote: >>> Thunderbird 3 is marking deleted email messages as read whether they >>> have been read or not. I see no logical reason why that should happen, >>> and I would like to have some way to prevent that. I think the Deleted >>> (Trash) folder should indicate any unread messages that it contains, and >>> they have to be marked as unread for it to do that. >> >> Why? >> >> I never noticed. For me the Deleted folder is for messages I >> want to delete (and is emptied on exit). But I guess there >> are people who want to use the Deleted folder as an archive. > > There is also a third way to consider it : a short term archive that you > manually or automatically purge. For instance, once in a while, I delete > all "deleted" message that are older than 3 months. > > Pascal I am not talking about archiving. I just want the folder to change its appearance to remind me that it needs to be emptied. I applied a workaround now. I replaced the Delete button with the File button. It will move messages without changing their status - a bit more clumsy, but it works.