Re: Rename a history file so that it can be used

Torsten Martinsen <[email protected]>
Newsgroups gmane.comp.version-control.cvs.tortoisecvs.user
Message-ID <[email protected]>
Jennifer Edelstein wrote:
>
> Torsten,
>
Please always Cc: the group.
>
>  
>
>  I apologize for my lack of clarity/misuse of words before.  I hope 
> the following .will explain.
>
>  
>
> Our company keeps two repositories: projects and service.  All changes 
> are made on the client side, the server just holds the content. 
>
>  
>
> When the project began Person1 created a folder on his computer called 
> 'Project A' in the 'Projects' folder and he stored all of that 
> project's program files inside that folder.  Then, he performed 'add 
> contents' and 'commit'.    When the program was complete, he made sure 
> that all of his files were 'committed.'   
>
>  
>
> Now the program was to be passed to the service department.   So, 
> Person2 copied the 'Project A' folder from the 'Projects' folder on 
> his laptop and pasted it into the 'Service' folder on his laptop.  He 
> then performed an 'add contents' , 'update' and 'commit.' 
>
It is a very bad idea to copy folders under CVS control - there is a 
hidden folder named 'CVS' inside each folder. If this gets copied too, 
CVS will assume that the copied folder is still in the original location.

>  Next, he deleted the 'Project A' folder in the 'Projects' folder on 
> his laptop and performed a 'commit.'  
>
Did he do a CVS Remove, or did he simply delete the folder?

>  
>
> Now, this was all done over a month ago and , just recently, I 
> realized that the files in the 'Service' folder are not the most 
> current files that would have been on Person1's laptop.    Person1 is 
> no longer with the company and, unfortunately, he was our cvs guru.  
> Since, Person1 knew the most about cvs, I am assuming that he did 
> actually commit the correct files; and, that Person2 did not do an 
> update before moving the files on his computer. 
>
>  
>
> Would this scenario then leave Person1's 'history' files on the server 
> in the 'Projects' repository. 
>
Yes, they would be unchanged. If Person2 did a CVS Remove and not just a 
delete, it will be slightly more complicated to retrieve the files, but 
still possible.
>
> As I am remote and do not have direct access to the server, I have 
> asked the person who does have direct access to look on the server.  
> He says that there is still a "Project A" folder in the "Projects" 
> repository with many files that have a ',v' at the end.  My basic 
> question is: 'Is it possible to restore the ,v files to usable files?
>
>  
>
> Thanks in advance for the assistance.
>
>  
>
> Jen
>

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Let Crystal Reports handle the reporting - Free Crystal Reports 2008 30-Day 
trial. Simplify your report design, integration and deployment - and focus on 
what you do best, core application coding. Discover what's new with
Crystal Reports now.  http://p.sf.net/sfu/bobj-july

_______________________________________________
tortoisecvs-users mailing list
tortoisecvs-users-5NWGOfrQmneRv+LV9MX5uipxlwaOVQ5f@public.gmane.org
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/tortoisecvs-users
lmpx.com only provides a reader for public news (NNTP) servers. It is not affiliated with the servers or forums shown here and is not responsible for the content of articles, which is written by their respective authors.