[p4] p4 sync for recreated client

Hamza Sheikh <[email protected]> Thu, 8 Feb 2018 21:29:21 -0800
Newsgroups gmane.comp.version-control.perforce
Message-ID <CABJ3qSNgk06R7zvWQ2OpyuJkj_WUUJhr4uFqi5zc1PYO_2wvjQ@mail.gmail.com>
Does p4 download all data again during `p4 sync` if:

- the client is deleted `p4 client -d clientfoo`
- but data in workspace is not deleted
- then the client is created again with the same config values `p4 client`
- run `p4 sync`

I would expect the data to not be downloaded again in this case since
it already exists.

- Is my expectation wrong?
- Am I misunderstanding and data is not downloaded again?


Here's my scenario:

Create a Docker container. Mount a volume in the container that will
contain synced with p4, say at /ws. Create a workspace like below and
run `p4 sync`.

Client: foostr
Update: blahdate
Access: blahdate
Owner:  foouser
Host:   build-container
Description:
        Created by foouser.
Root:   /ws
Options:        noallwrite noclobber nocompress unlocked nomodtime normdir
SubmitOptions:  submitunchanged
LineEnd:        local
View:
        //depot/bar/... //foostr/bar/...


I can recreate the container many times and run `p4 sync`. If there
have been no changes, then the workspace is in sync and there's
nothing to do every time.

However, if I delete the client with `p4 client -d foostr`, create it
again with the same config, and run `p4 sync`, *all* files are
downloaded again.
_______________________________________________
perforce-user mailing list  -  [email protected]
http://maillist.perforce.com/mailman/listinfo/perforce-user