RE: Prompt for Overwrite does not work in VS.NET Integration

"Chris Mullins" <[email protected]> Wed, 3 Mar 2004 11:18:17 -0800
Newsgroups gmane.comp.version-control.sourcegear-vault.user
Message-ID <[email protected]>
I made the setting in the Vault-Client the moment I installed Vault 2.0.


 

The problem that I had with files being over-written was made 2 days
after that, with numerous reboots of my laptop in between the two
events. 

 

My scenario has a big solution (20 or so projects) and changes made to
about 5 files across 2 of those projects (the core logic, and the NUnit
test case project). Once all of my new logic and N-Unit tests passed, I
right-clicked on the Solution and hit "Get Latest" by mistake. 

 

I was never prompted with "This file is checked out, do you wish to
overwrite?" - instead it just wiped out all my changes. I was able to
recover them from the _sgback directory, so the only real cost was about
15 minutes of frustration. 

 

-- 

Chris Mullins

 

  _____  

From: Dan Schreiber [mailto:[email protected]] 
Sent: Wednesday, March 03, 2004 9:14 AM
To: Monte Kalisch; Jan C. de Graaf; Chris Mullins;
[email protected]
Subject: RE: [vault-list] Prompt for Overwrite does not work in VS.NET
Integration

 

I've been testing this out this morning, and haven't been able to
reproduce what Chris is seeing.

 

One thing to remember is that changing a GUI client option won't affect
the IDE until the IDE is restarted, and vice-versa.  So, if you enabled
"Prompt for Overwrite" in the GUI client while the IDE client was up, it
won't prompt before overwriting until the IDE is restarted.  Is it
possible that is what happened here?  We definitely want to track this
down if it is indeed a bug.

 

Also, the Get Latest in the IDE (or anywhere) won't overwrite a file
unless it is explicitly told to (the default on a Get Latest is
overwrite), or unless the file status is Unknown.  Chris, is it possible
that your default is overwrite, or the file had an Unknown status?

 

As for allowing Gets on checked out files - this is actually extremely
useful when multiple people are modifying the same file.  You want to be
able to merge other people's changes into your working copy without
having to do it as part of a checkin operation (so for example, you can
merge some interim changes into your file without having to check in
yet, if you are not ready yet).  This is the default setting for Get
latest (to merge server changes in, which leaves your file alone if
there are merge conflicts).

 

Thanks,

-Dan

	-----Original Message-----
	From: [email protected]
[mailto:[email protected]]On Behalf Of Monte Kalisch
	Sent: Wednesday, March 03, 2004 6:19 AM
	To: Jan C. de Graaf; Chris Mullins;
[email protected]
	Subject: RE: [vault-list] Prompt for Overwrite does not work in
VS.NET Integration

	I would agree.  I can't think of any good reason to not prevent
it.  I think most of us (maybe I'm wrong) would *expect* for this to not
be an option.

	 

	On the note about Chris' specific issue, isn't that a bug?  If
"Prompt on Overwrite" is enabled, that's exactly what it should do, no?

	 

	-----Original Message-----
	From: [email protected]
[mailto:[email protected]] On Behalf Of Jan C. de
Graaf
	Sent: Wednesday, March 03, 2004 2:36 AM
	To: 'Chris Mullins'; [email protected]
	Subject: RE: [vault-list] Prompt for Overwrite does not work in
VS.NET Integration

	Chris pointed out once again how rediculously dangerous it is to
be actually able to do a 'get-latest' on a checked-out file! If feel
Vault should AT LEAST warn at the first already-checked-out file it
encounters!

	 

	What reason is there to do a get latest on a checked-out file?
Maybe on a per-file basis, but certainly not on the (recursive)
directory level.

	 

	Jan C. de Graaf

	New Limit Database Solutions

	 

	 

	 

	 

	-----Oorspronkelijk bericht-----
	Van: [email protected]
[mailto:[email protected]] Namens Chris Mullins
	Verzonden: woensdag 3 maart 2004 6:27
	Aan: [email protected]
	Onderwerp: [vault-list] Prompt for Overwrite does not work in
VS.NET Integration

	 

	Open a project in Source Control

	 

	Make a bunch of changes.

	 

	Right-Click on the Solution, and (by mistake) click "GetLatest"
instead of "Check In". Think for a moment "Do I kill the process or let
it finish?". 

	 

	All checked-out files are overwritten. 

	 

	 "Prompt on Overwrite" is enabled in the Vault GUI. 

	 

	-- 

	Chris