existing users upgrading to 3.5
"Joe Panico" <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.web.pixory |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
A few notes: You absolutely _should_ back up your Pixory database before upgrading to 3.5. The Pixory database is a "hidden" directory named ".pixory" in your home directory. You should first shutdown the Pixory application before backing up (copying) the database. Prior to release 3.5, there were two ways (modes) to share an album in Pixory. These were controlled in the album editor section entitled "access". The default mode, which had no name, was to share by sending out the album URL to the people you want to share with. This method employs "security through obscurity", because each album URL (which is static over the lifetime of the album) includes a long unique random key. This key is, for all practical purposes, impossible to guess. Thus, the only people who can access the album are those you have shared the URL with. Beyond "security through obscurity", there were no access control mechanisms prior to 3.5. In 3.4, all "viewers" were anonymous, that is they never authenticated (logged in), so Pixory never knew who they were. The other pre-3.5 sharing mode was "make this album public". All public albums appeared on the "Public Catalog" page. In 3.5, even though there are 2 new modes, the default behaviour should be exactly the same as in 3.4. That is, the default mode is "anonymous url", which is the same default as in 3.4 and works the exact same way. Public albums also work the same way. So the bottom line is that if you upgrade to 3.5, your album sharing settings from the previous release should be preserved and the application should behave as it did in 3.4 until you change the sharing settings to one of the new modes. regards, joe ------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~--> Upgrade to 128-bit SSL Security! http://us.click.yahoo.com/qZ0LdD/yjVHAA/TtwFAA/EGnolB/TM ---------------------------------------------------------------------~-> Yahoo! Groups Links To visit your group on the web, go to: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/pixory-beta/ To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to: [email protected] Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to: http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/