Re: Sharing
"Joe Panico" <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.web.pixory |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
Chris, Yep, that's the expected behaviour. I think this aspect of the new sharing model deserves some explanation. In the "old" sharing model (before 3.5), Pixory only ever authenticated one user-- the "composer". "Viewers" were never authenticated, so as far as Pixory was concerned, all viewers were the same, that is anonymous. There was a page called "public catalog", reachable at urls: <hostname>:port, or <hostname>:port/pixory, or <hostname>:port/pixory/pxapplication, or misstypes of those. This "public catalog" page always displayed all albums that had been marked as public, regardless of who the user/viewer was. In the new sharing model, there is no longer a "public catalog"-- I now refer to that page as the "viewer home". It's not a public catalog any more because it can now displays more than just public albums. I call it the "viewer home" because the set of albums it displays is tailored for each viewer. Before a viewer has authenticated, she is anonymous, so the only albums that Pixory will display for her on the viewer home are the public albums, because those are the only albums that joe public (anonymous user) is entitled to see. Once the user has authenticated, the "viewer home" will display all albums that user is entitled to see: all albums that you have explicitly shared with that user (contact) via the "share with listed contacts" mode, _and_ all public albums. When testing this stuff out, switching between different viewers is a little tricky right now, because there is no logout button for viewers (rectified in next release), so you have to shutdown the browser or erase cookies if you want the application to forget that you are logged in as a viewer. The composer (as the owner) is entitled to see all albums, so when you visit the "viewer home" page logged in as the composer, you will see all albums. Also, for performance reasons, the set of albums to be displayed on the "viewer home" page is calculated once at the beginning of a user session, and is then fixed over the lifetime of that session. This means that if you change the sharing for a particular user while that user is logged in, they will not see the changes reflected on the "viewer home" until they log out and log back in. I hope this helps ;) regards, joe --- In [email protected], "Chris" <brandalob@y...> wrote: > Joe > > Follow up to last message - the new sharing system is working - it > does not display correctly on the local 192.168.0.2:8081/ unless one > logs out and re-logs in as a named person other than oneself! > > Chris Yahoo! Groups Links To visit your group on the web, go to: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/pixory-beta/ To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to: [email protected] Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to: http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/