Re: Starting Pixory automatically
"Joe Panico" <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.web.pixory |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
Alon,
>(I have not yet
> decided if I want to upgrade to the new sharing scheme and relearn
>it)
The new sharing model is completely backwards compatible with the old
sharing model. This means that if you upgrade, everything (including
sharing) will work exactly as it did under the old sharing model. All
your albums will inherit their old settings which will still work the
same way. Once you have upgraded, in order to use any of the new
sharing modes you have to actively modify the share method settings on
an album.
The CAVEAT is that there is a bug in 3.6 which prevents the default
(anonymous URL) sharing method from working ;) This is fixed in 3.7,
so don't consider upgrading until then.
I should also mention that Pixory upgrades, in general, are a one-way
trip. Many Pixory upgrades irriversibly alter the structure of the
database in a way that will confuse older releases. There is no way to
roll-back. So, in general, you can't "try out" an upgrade-- you have
to go for it! Of course, since you are making backup copies of your
database, you could always roll-back to a previous Pixory release by
restoring your older database.
regards,
joe
Yahoo! Groups Links
<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/pixory-beta/
<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
[email protected]
<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/