Re: Pixory setup and sharing setup
"Joe Panico" <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.web.pixory |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
Gil,
My first priority is, and always will be, the stability and
reliability of Pixory. This imperative always trumps "breadth of
features". That is just my personal taste. I always prefer software
that works well but doesn't do much, over software that tries to do a
lot but has lots of bugs.
That said, there will always be bugs. That's why I have users-- to run
into the bugs ;) But in my personal experience, and the experiences of
people I personally know who use Pixory, the stability and reliability
has so far been pretty good for a beta product.
In order for me to improve the reliability of Pixory, I need the
active participation of users. The payoff for you is that you get to
guide the evolution of the software. But it requires some work on your
part. Any time you encounter a problem, I need as much information as
you can possibly furnish regarding the circumstances.
> I suddenly after installing the latest beta lost my own password and
> the
> sharing set of all of the albums.
This is new to me. I upgraded to 3.9 and did not loose any stored
information. In fact, I have never lost my password after an update. I
have lost my sharing information recently, but that was the result of
doing a Advanced Configuration->rebuild index, a bug which I tracked
down and recorded in the WHATSNEW file. That's why the "rebuild index"
is temporarily disabled. Is it possible that you used "rebuild index"
just before you upgraded to 3.9? Or maybe the problem you are seeing
is somehow related to Windows, in which case I wouldn't see it because
I run Pixory under Linux.
Has anyone else experienced loss of any configuration or sharing
information as a result of upgrading to 3.9?
>y do I have to logout after a sharing set of an
> album before I can set another album as shared with listed contacts?
I'm not sure exactly what you are saying here. You shouldn't have to
log out before being able to do anything. Could you describe exactly
what is happening in more detail?
> is this save. It seems the setup should not be changed by the
> install?
Of course, the configuration should be unaffected by upgrades. If your
configuration is being affected, there is a bug somewhere.
Gil, what I really need from you is *extremely* detailed error
reports. You may feel silly reporting things that appear obvious or
trivial to you, but I can't possibly track down problems without much
more information than what you're giving me so far.
Let's start at the beginning:
Where, on your hard drive, was 3.8 installed? Where (what file path)
did Pixory put the 3.8 database (the .pixory/data directory). How
exactly do you perform the 3.9 upgrade? What do you delete? How do you
place down the new files? After the upgrade, which pieces of data were
no longer there? You said password. Does that mean that Pixory made
you reenter all of the initialization parameters? (image root,
username, etc)
regards,
joe
Yahoo! Groups Links
<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/pixory-beta/
<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
[email protected]
<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/