Unwanted deletion of remote files

Chris Wilson <[email protected]> Thu, 23 Jun 2005 21:44:01 +0100 (BST)
Newsgroups gmane.comp.web.sitecopy
Message-ID <[email protected]>
Hi all,

I think I have found another problem with sitecopy. There are certain 
remote files that I would like sitecopy not to modify in any way (e.g. 
website access logs). If possible, I would like sitecopy to download them 
but not upload them, but I can't find any documented way to achieve that.

Worse, I cannot make Sitecopy not delete them from the remote site. I have 
already lost all my access logs, due to my own complacency in running 
sitecopy -u.

Sitecopy -l shows the following:

chris@gcc(nm)$ sitecopy -l audit
sitecopy: Showing changes to site `audit' (on ftp.marketaudit.co.uk in /)
* These items have been added since the last update:
site/gantt.js, site/audit.js
* These items have been changed since the last update:
site/moreinfo.html, site/index.html
* These items have been deleted since the last update:
archive/db-01.sql.gz, archive/db-02.sql.gz, archive/db-03.sql.gz, 
archive/db-04.sql.gz, archive/db-05.sql.gz, archive/db-06.sql.gz, 
archive/db-07.sql.gz, archive/db-08.sql.gz, archive/db-09.sql.gz, 
archive/db-10.sql.gz, archive/db-11.sql.gz, archive/db-12.sql.gz, 
archive/db-13.sql.gz, archive/db-14.sql.gz, archive/db-15.sql.gz, 
archive/db-16.sql.gz, archive/db-17.sql.gz, archive/db-18.sql.gz, 
archive/db-19.sql.gz, archive/db-20.sql.gz, archive/db-21.sql.gz, 
archive/db-22.sql.gz, archive/db-23.sql.gz, archive/db-24.sql.gz, 
archive/db-25.sql.gz, archive/db-26.sql.gz, archive/db-27.sql.gz, 
archive/db-28.sql.gz, dir:site/logs
sitecopy: The remote site needs updating (33 items to update).

I don't want it to touch the archive directory, nor site/logs, but I can't 
make it not delete all those files. My configuration is:

site audit
         server ftp.marketaudit.co.uk
         remote /
         local /home/chris/project/nm/remote
         username xxx
         password xxx
         protocol ftp
         exclude /bin
         exclude /etc
         exclude /lib
         exclude /logs
         ignore /site/logs
         ignore /audit
         ignore /archive
         state checksum
         checkmoved renames
         permissions all

I have tried "ignore" and "exclude" directives, and neither does what I 
want. Please help!

Do I need to run "sitecopy -f" after modifying the configuration? It takes 
forever because it checksums each remote file.

Cheers, Chris.
-- 
_ ___ __     _
  / __/ / ,__(_)_  | Chris Wilson <0000 at qwirx.com> - Cambs UK |
/ (_/ ,\/ _/ /_ \ | Security/C/C++/Java/Perl/SQL/HTML Developer |
\ _/_/_/_//_/___/ | We are GNU-free your mind-and your software |

_______________________________________________
sitecopy maillist  -  [email protected]
http://dav.lyra.org/mailman/listinfo/sitecopy