Re: TinyMCE save plugin oddities | Editors Save button is subject to similar issues
Armin Stroß-Radschinski <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.web.zope.plone.devel |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
Am 04.02.2014 um 14:45 schrieb Nathan Van Gheem <[email protected]>: > > On Mon, Feb 3, 2014 at 7:54 AM, ichimdav <[email protected]> wrote: > TinyMCE is bundled with a save plugin which sets the current text value when > using the toolbar button or hitting ctrl + s. > > This behaviour is a bit weird because of the following: > 1. Someone with edit permission can modify the rich text field without > needing to save the object. In this way someone can modify the content and > it will now show up in the historyview. > This is not as dangerous as it could be since looking at the undo > transaction shows that tinymce-save/save is triggered by the user that > triggered it. > 2. Hitting cancel will not revert the field value to the previous value > before the tinyMCE save action coming from the save plugin. > > I think that at minimum there should be some code that is triggered on > hitting the cancel button which sets the text field value back to the value > it had before the tinyMCE save plugin actions. > > How do you guys envision that this save plugin should work? > I think the way you describe makes sense. I think for point #1 it would be better for save to simply change the object content and reindex that content and not add history right? > Related to this I figured out some other issues / challenges: Using the save button from the TinyMCE UI is similar to using autosave and suggests that this is a full save. This is not a full save. A. You can change the title and edit some body text, and click the TinyMCE save button. Now when cancelling the edit of the body is kept but the edit of the title is not. B. When creating a new object, the save button makes no sense and promises something that ends up unreachable in the temp storage, when the browser crashes. C. The save button makes not clear, that it saves this single field only and only after an initial full save. When fixing this issue the whole UX should be in focus. And yes, "Cancel should be Cancel!" or give a dialog with two options: Keep autosaves or revert. We should make a ticket out of it. It is a buggy feature. my 2 Cent Armin ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Managing the Performance of Cloud-Based Applications Take advantage of what the Cloud has to offer - Avoid Common Pitfalls. Read the Whitepaper. http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/clk?id=121051231&iu=/4140/ostg.clktrk _______________________________________________ Plone-developers mailing list Plone-developers-5NWGOfrQmneRv+LV9MX5uipxlwaOVQ5f@public.gmane.org https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/plone-developers
signature.asc
(application/pgp-signature, 496 B)
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE----- Comment: GPGTools - https://gpgtools.org iQEcBAEBCgAGBQJS8Q+jAAoJEDsfPhYo1lBVdzoH/3R+94hC5I/FV/6lyFNTN6ax waNgDahTTjy+0U0AuSWAPtmBpDIM/D8EF9hzcb/e5glSBV0/orr6qDWv+mXaDhrW 3hAP+U/toa1l6htInDj8ZQ6cGJtlWUpiPT1JYad8ouM/tNDOwI72M2Myhzo63Skf RZTMq/j96sYVMauM1SKNyR5qLgainy92HulfcM3YNtO31ekmrAvSR761gn//Sxv+ 34V/2bM3Bc9n0uFiQ9XX4iueb4RmG2i4lD+dxAO0ntnPGLttROPGZaFDFoYSsxNR CMbYmgvfuSIyHInbnM85yjxXVzouQwnxomrYU/u49DCu37/JoOzhpmAkvGI9IL0= =KpVg -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----