Re: subfolders

"Jeff G." <[email protected]>
Newsgroups gmane.mail.spam.spamcop.email
Organization SpamCop
Message-ID <[email protected]>
nobody <[email protected]> organized electrons in article
news:[email protected] that appeared as follows:
>> I'm just guessing here, but it appears that I will not be able to
>> download and remove the emails in the subfolders unless I move them
>> to the main inbox.
>
> You can "download and remove" them by simply dragging and dropping
> them within Outlook Express from one of the subfolders within your
> IMAP account to any of your local folders. (You can do the same thing
> in Outlook, too, but this does not preserve all the headers). Once
> you have dragged the messages over to your local folders, they will
> be "marked as deleted" in your IMAP subfolder. You can then use the
> "purge delete messages" function (called simply "Purge" in OE) to
> remove them for good from your IMAP subfolder.
>
>> I just thought there might be some way to access the subfolders
>> using POP as well.
>
> No, POP is an old protocol that does not understand the whole concept
> of folders and will only get the messages from your inbox.

While the info posted above is correct by default, there is an option
that makes it incorrect.  I posted the following in "FAQ Entry: Webmail:
Deleting and Moving Messages'at
http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=3290 on Dec 26 2004
at 02:19 PM EST:

This FAQ Entry concerns the "Deleting and Moving Messages" Options Page
of SpamCop Webmail. It is accessed via Webmail by clicking the "Options"
Link, scrolling down in the center "Mail Management" Column, and
clicking the "Deleting and Moving Messages" Link, described as "Set
preferences for what happens when you move and delete messages." There
are three Checkboxes available on this Page:


Return to the mailbox listing after deleting, moving, or copying a
message?: If you are reading a message and you delete, move, or copy
that message and this Checkbox is checked, you will then see the mailbox
(Folder) listing containing that message, whereas if this Checkbox is
not checked, you will then see the next message in that mailbox
(Folder).


When deleting messages, move them to your Trash folder instead of
marking them as deleted?: This portion is divided into Checked and
Unchecked sections:

Checked: This is the default. Messages which are deleted from a
particular mailbox/Folder go straight to your "Trash" mailbox/Folder.
Any messages already marked/flagged as deleted cannot be: unmarked in
Webmail because the "Undeleted" marking option is not present; purged in
Webmail because the "Purge Deleted" Link is not present; and have their
shown/hidden state changed because the "Show Deleted" and "Hide Deleted"
Links are not present. To Empty Trash, either click the 'Empty Trash'
link in the menubar" (if it is present because the following Checkbox is
checked) or go to your "Trash" mailbox/Folder and click the "Empty Trash
folder" Link (if it is present because the following Checkbox is not
checked).

Unchecked: This is optional and is more consistent with the ways that
Eudora and OE operate, but I no longer recommend it due to the
possibility of data loss (explained below). Messages which are deleted
from a particular mailbox/Folder stay where they are, but get
marked/flagged as deleted (struck out). Deleted messages can be:
unmarked using the "Undeleted" marking option; purged (equivalent to
"Empty Trash" for that mailbox/Folder) using the "Purge Deleted" Link;
and shown or hidden using the "Show Deleted" and "Hide Deleted" Links
(only one of these two Links shows at a time, depending on
appropriateness).
DATA LOSS WARNING: If you want to keep any deleted messages in a
particular mailbox/Folder, DO NOT USE WEBMAIL TO DELETE OR MOVE
(INCLUDING BY ACTION OF A FILTER) ANY MESSAGE IN THAT MAILBOX/FOLDER OR
IT WILL MARK THAT MESSAGE AS DELETED AND THEN AUTOMATICALLY PURGE ALL OF
THE DELETED MESSAGES IN THAT MAILBOX/FOLDER INSTEAD OF JUST MARKING THAT
MESSAGE AS DELETED. I have learned this from experience the hard way,
and I am not pleased. I consider this a bug, inconsistent with the
implied "When deleting messages, ALWAYS mark them as deleted AND KEEP
THEM IN THE MAILBOX/FOLDER instead of moving them to your Trash folder"
unchecked status of this Checkbox.


Display the 'Empty Trash' link in the menubar?: This is pretty
self-explanatory, except that if you check this Checkbox and use
keyboard shortcuts the "'Empty Trash' link in the menubar" will hijack
Alt+E, leaving Alt+T for the "Report as Spam" Link. Also, the "Empty
Trash folder" Link is only present in the "Trash" mailbox/Folder display
if this Checkbox is not checked.


Acknowledgement: This FAQ Entry grew out of my experiences and writings
in the Folder Level Delete Malfing??? Topic [at
http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=322].


-- 
Best Regards,  Jeff G.
I have been a SpamCop User/Member/Customer since 1999 and am a
Moderator of the new web-based forums (now the primary method for
getting help, http://forum.spamcop.net).  Please reply via Forum, Group,
or List only.
lmpx.com only provides a reader for public news (NNTP) servers. It is not affiliated with the servers or forums shown here and is not responsible for the content of articles, which is written by their respective authors.