Re: fire privileges

Jason Townsend <[email protected]> Sun, 23 Jan 2005 14:15:36 -0800
Newsgroups gmane.network.fire.general
Message-ID <[email protected]>
On Jan 23, 2005, at 12:25 PM, Elektron wrote:
> On 23 Jan, 2005, at 19:58, Jason Townsend wrote:
>> On Jan 23, 2005, at 11:53 AM, Elektron wrote:
>>> On 23 Jan, 2005, at 16:23, Micah Gideon Modell wrote:
>>>> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
>>>> Hash: SHA1
>>>>
>>>> Yeah, I had that problem too.  I dragged the old app to the trash, 
>>>> emptied it and then copied the new one into Applications.  However, 
>>>> this is obviously a sub-par solution.  Why did this happen in the 
>>>> first place?  Can we fix it?
>>>
>>> The files in the app aren't writable by anyone. It should be trivial 
>>> to fix in the build scripts, and is easy to fix in the Finder (set 
>>> your permissions to read/write and apply-to-all or so).
>>
>> Obviously you have permission to delete the application by trashing 
>> it... seems like a Finder bug to me.
>
> No, you don't. cd /tmp; mkdir blah; cd blah; mkdir blah; chmod 555 .; 
> cd ..; rm -Rf blah
>
> You get 'permission denied' (since it can't delete the inner folder), 
> and 'directory not empty' (since it can't delete the outer folder 
> while it has something in it). Then, open . and move blah to the 
> trash. If you want, check the permissions in the terminal (still 0). 
> Then, empty trash.
>
> The Finder probably does a recursive chmod in order to delete the 
> files. This makes sense, because if you've moved it to the trash 
> anyway, no harm in chmod'ing. It also makes sense, because the average 
> user won't know to change the permissions (or "it's my file, why can't 
> I delete it?"). But the Finder doesn't do a chmod otherwise, since 
> things are normally unwritable for a reason (the same reason why 
> things tend not to automatically unlock files).
>
> Of course, it could instead pop up a "You do not have write 
> permissions, delete anyway?" dialog box.

My point is if the Finder is able to delete the original when you trash 
it, it could obviously do the same thing in this case and replace the 
existing app bundle.

If you are the owner of the original item, you should be able to 
replace it. Why should that be different than deleting the original and 
copying in the new?

If we were to change the permissions on the app to start with this 
would only address the issue in the subsequent update since everyone's 
existing copy of Fire has the current permissions.

-Jason



-------------------------------------------------------
This SF.Net email is sponsored by: IntelliVIEW -- Interactive Reporting
Tool for open source databases. Create drag-&-drop reports. Save time
by over 75%! Publish reports on the web. Export to DOC, XLS, RTF, etc.
Download a FREE copy at http://www.intelliview.com/go/osdn_nl
_______________________________________________
Fire-talk mailing list
[email protected]
To unsubscribe or change your options use the web interface:
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/fire-talk
Have a question? Please read the Fire Frequently Asked Questions:
http://fire.sourceforge.net/faq.shtml