Re: Updating share items results in false positive conflicts

"Morgen Sagen" <[email protected]>
Newsgroups gmane.org.osaf.design
Message-ID <[email protected]>
On 10/2/07, Mimi Yin <[email protected]> wrote:
> On Oct 1, 2007, at 11:35 AM, Morgen Sagen wrote:
>
> >> 2. Capture and send the 'last synced version' of an item when
> >> sending it out
> >> via email so that Chandler Desktop recipients can tell if the
> >> sender/updater
> >> edited the same version of the item they have.
> >
> > I don't think this is something that can be solved by only changing
> > the way edit/update works because that would just solve the case where
> > the item is received via sharing prior to receiving a different copy
> > via email.  If the order were reversed and the item arrived via email
> > and then a different copy arrived via sharing, the differcences would
> > still be in conflict.
>
> Morgen, when would this happen? When would the sharing sync version
> of the item be different from the email version?

If someone emailed me a new item, then they made a change to the item
and added to a collection we both share, when I next synced the
collection that copy of the item would be different than the one I had
received via email.

> In the example with Philippe's update, the updated version was the
> same as the one Jeffrey would receive via sharing sync. So there
> wouldn't have been a conflict.

There would only be a conflict between the time Jeffrey received the
email and the next time Jeffrey synced the collection (well, at least
after I fix bug 10877).

> If Philippe edited the item again and synced, would Jeffrey's
> Chandler be able to tell that Philippe had edited the version J
> received via email?

Yes.  Once you have received an emailed item from someone, you now
have a baseline to compare future incoming (and outgoing) changes to.

> > You can even get these conflicts for an item in
> > two shared collections without involving email:  if you are sharing
> > collections A and B with me and an item is in A, but I copy it to B
> > and make a change, then you sync only collection B, any changes I made
> > will be in conflict on your item until you sync A (at which point the
> > conflicts will disappear automatically). This is not a scenario people
> > are likely to run into.
>
> Sorry, I'm not understanding the item in 2 shared collections thing.

The rule is: the first time an item arrives via a shared collection
***, if you already have a copy of that item in your repository, any
differences between what you have and what is inbound is a conflict.
So in this case, you already had the item (because it was in A), but a
different version of it arrived via B for the first time.  Does that
help?

*** You can also substitute "a shared collection" with "email from a
given address" to make the rule apply to edit/update.

~morgen
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Open Source Applications Foundation "Design" mailing list
http://lists.osafoundation.org/mailman/listinfo/design
lmpx.com only provides a reader for public news (NNTP) servers. It is not affiliated with the servers or forums shown here and is not responsible for the content of articles, which is written by their respective authors.