SUMMARY: Synchronizing passwd file with Enhanced Security password database
"Maglinger, Paul" <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.os.tru64.managers |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
No firm responses on this. It looks like it may be something to do with C2 security whereby accounts are never deleted to prevent reuse of UIDs, and thus inadvertantly give a new user and old user's privs. So, instead of renaming the account it looks like I have to delete it and recreate it using the same UID and groups that it had previously, and renaming the home directory. Thanks to all. Paul -----Original Message----- From: Maglinger, Paul Sent: Thursday, November 17, 2005 11:35 To: Maglinger, Paul Subject: ADDENDUM: Synchronizing passwd file with Enhanced Security password database Thanks to Ann Majeske, Chris Wincentsen, Richard Jackson, J.A. Guteirrez, John Lanier, and Chris Adams for their responses. Numerous mentions of using authck and edauth. The deleted account is not showing up using either command, so I'm going to let that issue go for now. The renamed account shows the new username in the passwd file and the enhanced security database, but the old username is in the enhanced security database too. I would assume that the rename would have changed both, but it appears that it actually a new entry and retains the old one as well. The old username does not appear in the Account Manager gui, and you can't log in using the old username, so why does it still exist in the database? Is this normal for Enhanced Security? It appears that I can use edauth to remove the old username, but why would such housekeeping be necessary? -----Original Message----- From: [email protected] [mailto:[email protected]] On Behalf Of Maglinger, Paul Sent: Monday, November 14, 2005 14:04 To: Tru64 Unix Managers list Subject: Synchronizing passwd file with Enhanced Security password database I'm doing some housecleaning on our Tru64 5.1B servers because good ol' SekChek shows that there are two usernames that show up in the shadow passwd file and are not in the passwd file. One of these accounts was deleted, the other account was renamed due to a name change. I'm trying to find information on synchronizing these two files, but most of what I'm finding refers to a /etc/shadow file that doesn't exist. We are running Enhanced Security so what would be the shadow file is actually the auth.db, right? I can't find anything on synchronizing the two. Can someone point me in the right direction? Paul Maglinger, A+, CA, CCA, CET, MCSE Systems Administrator Shoe Carnival Inc. (812)867-4674 [email protected] ________________________________