Re: Wizfile problem
VanguardLH <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | alt.comp.freeware |
|---|---|
| Organization | Usenet Elder |
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
"John C." <[email protected]> wrote: > I use and like Antibody Software's program Wizfile: > > https://antibody-software.com/wizfile/ > > It works really fast and effectively at finding things on my drives. > > However, it does have one issue: > > This morning I noticed that there was an Wizfile icon in my tray. I > really don't like programs which insist on running in the background, so > I right-clicked on the icon and chose "Exit", which closed the program. > Then I restarted it and tried to turn off the "Minimize to tray when > closed" option. Suddenly I was unable to access the Options dropdown. > When I restarted the program, I noticed that the setting had been > re-enabled. I again disabled it and restarted the program. The setting > had been re-enabled again. I tried this several times and eventually it > stopped disabling the Options dropdown, but every time I restarted the > program the setting was re-enabled. > > Not a big deal, but it's easy to forget about shutting the program down > by using the tray icon. If you do forget, then the program will restart > even if you reboot. > > At least this is what I've experienced. Is anybody else using the > program and if so, are you also noticing that this happens? > > I just contacted the author about the problem. Hopefully, he or she or > they will reply. I don't use this program. Never even heard of it. I use voidtools' [Search] Everything. From the FAQ page at: https://antibody-software.com/wizfile/quick-start "While WizFile is active it will monitor your hard drives for file changes." looks like WizFile also uses an indexing service to update its database. Did you check if there is a service for WizFile? If so, and when you exit WizFile, does its service also unload? Are you using any imaging/restore tool that lets you make changes during a Windows session which are recorded to a virtual disk, but gets discarded, and you start with a fresh image again on a reboot? Such tools allow you to make changes, and then reboot to discard all those changes unless you choose to save state during a Windows session.