Re: Mystic Clearing Screen During Login Sequence

[email protected] (Todd Yatzook) Mon, 27 Jan 2025 11:22:34 +1300
Newsgroups alt.bbs.mystic
Organization Agency HUB, Dunedin - New Zealand
Message-ID <[email protected]>
On 26 Jan 2025, Jeff Earle said the following...
 
 JE> I'm trying to understand something and hope there is a work around.
 JE> It seems to me that the login sequence for Mystic is that after the bbs
 JE> detects a logon it displays a PRELOGON.ANS or .ASC. Currently mine is
 JE> longer than 50 lines so it gives a Yes No Continous prompt for
 JE> displaying the PRELOGON.*. Then when the user chooses y,n or c, Mystic
 JE> clears the Screen and displays the preuser.* and then the enter username
 JE> prompt. If I'm wrong on this sequence please let me know.
 JE> What I want to know if there is a work around for Mystic not to clear the
 JE> screen before displaying the preuser.* file? I really don't want to
 JE> change the name of the prelogon.* to preuser.*. I kinda like the
 JE> sequence but don't want a clear screen. 
 JE> Any ideas?

Had a big ol' explainy reply for ya, had to delete the entire thing just to say 
this: open your Mystic preuser.ans in a text editor (I'm assuming you're 
talking about the default one) and in the top-left of the file you'll see 
<pipe>16<pipe>CL (real pipe codes, not literally <pipe>). Delete the <pipe>CL 
part, et voila!