newbie intro
"Christopher B. Prescott" <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.audio.netmd.devel |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
Hi there, New to the list. I signed up after spending 3 hours reading all the November and December digests on the Web (yes, found via Google) (stayed up till 2:45 am doing so--yipes!). While I'm not a programmer/developer, I was the CTO for a small tech department for about 3 years so I have an understanding of *much* (but nowhere near all) of the discussion here as well as the project in general. Nonetheless, I find it simply gripping. Especially as I received the MZ-N707 for Christmas from my wife. As an amateur home audio digital recording type, I lived the cliché when I was so excited but found that I could not upload via USB. Thus my search and finding this group. Kudos for all your efforts. Glad to see that I was not the only one to have thought of many of the approaches that have already been found to be dead-ends or are still under pursuit. One very simple scenario just occurred to me. I'm sure that this gets you/us nowhere but thought I'd throw it out there. Sorry if it's been discussed before (I don't remember it from the archives I read): After having downloaded the massive install zip for SonicStage, I decided to uninstall OpenMG. No brainer there. I'm running win2k on my laptop and, when I went to the Add/Remove Programs, there was also software named something to the effect of "OpenMG Secure [something]". I went to uninstall it thinking "Hey! Maybe I just uninstall this and run OpenMG and it'll let me import my mic recordings!" Talk about wishful thinking. Pie in the sky, indeed! So anyway, I go to uninstall it and what I thought was interesting was that it notifies you that it will force a reboot after it's done its file removal(s). No option to cancel out and reboot later. So I proceeded, watched it remove files and then reboot. Once rebooted, OpenMG didn't work anymore. No surprise there, and I don't care as I'll uninstall the rest of it. But it got me to wondering (I guess I thought it was a strange, strong-arm function forcing an automatic, instant reboot): What if the reboot could be cancelled after the uninstall procedure thus preserving the system without the security program and, presumably, whatever else it takes care of during the shutdown/boot. I checked and all the .mdb, etc. files are still in the appropriate directories. Anyway, just wondering. I'm sure it's nothing. Glad to be a part of all this, however removed given my non-programming abilities. But I am also an attorney (familiar with intellectual property, software, copyright issues) and that may or may not be of some assistance in the future (hopefully not!). Happy holidays to all. Regards, Prescott