Cloud part versioning

Andrea Venturoli <[email protected]> Mon, 11 Jul 2022 08:16:40 +0200
Newsgroups gmane.comp.sysutils.backup.bacula.devel
Message-ID <[email protected]>
Hello.

I've written tu users@, but got no answer, so I'm trying here.

I've got an installation that is backing up to S3.

I see a lot of messages like the following in the job logs:

 > Full0117/part.2 was present on the cloud and has been versioned to 
part20220603223013.2

In fact we are using much more space than we expected.



I had a look at the sources (src/stored/cloud_dev.c, function 
upload_engine) and saw that every part, except .1 is versioned, without 
any switch to disable this.

What's the rationale for this?


Unless I'm missing something, I've set up my retentions in order to 
recycle volumes, so my intention is to *overwrite* them, not keep the 
old version around.

Can I just comment this in the sources or is there any side-effect I'm 
not seeing?

Why was this put up in the first place?


  bye & Thanks
	av.