Re: Cloud part versioning

Eric Bollengier via Bacula-devel <[email protected]> Mon, 11 Jul 2022 08:34:57 +0200
Newsgroups gmane.comp.sysutils.backup.bacula.devel
Message-ID <[email protected]>
Hello Andrea,

On 7/11/22 08:16, Andrea Venturoli wrote:
> 
> Hello.
> 
> I've written tu users@, but got no answer, so I'm trying here.
> 
> I've got an installation that is backing up to S3.
> 
> I see a lot of messages like the following in the job logs:
> 
>  > Full0117/part.2 was present on the cloud and has been versioned to 
> part20220603223013.2
> 
> In fact we are using much more space than we expected.
> 
> 
> 
> I had a look at the sources (src/stored/cloud_dev.c, function upload_engine) and 
> saw that every part, except .1 is versioned, without any switch to disable this.
> 
> What's the rationale for this?

It is quite simple, when we upload a part and if that the "same" part is already
present, we create a copy to avoid data loss. When doing the (re)label process,
the SD should delete the parts already present in the volume.

It's quite possible that something went wrong during this process (connection,
permission, bug, etc..).

I would suggest to open an issue at bugs.bacula.org where we can discuss
details.

Best Regards,
Eric

> 
> Unless I'm missing something, I've set up my retentions in order to recycle 
> volumes, so my intention is to *overwrite* them, not keep the old version around.
> 
> Can I just comment this in the sources or is there any side-effect I'm not seeing?
> 
> Why was this put up in the first place?
> 
> 
>   bye & Thanks
>      av.
> 


_______________________________________________
Bacula-devel mailing list
[email protected]
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/bacula-devel