Re: Rename a history file so that it can be used

"Jennifer Edelstein" <[email protected]>
Newsgroups gmane.comp.version-control.cvs.tortoisecvs.user
Message-ID <C6F38334F0EA05468136E5FDCD498B870110C9D1@PARA01-FS-01.paragon-usa.com>
I ran the Update Special and retrieved the files.  This was definitely a
learning experience.  Thanks so much for your help.

 

From: Torsten Martinsen [mailto:[email protected]] 
Sent: Friday, November 06, 2009 3:27 PM
To: Jennifer Edelstein
Cc: tortoisecvs-users-5NWGOfrQmneRv+LV9MX5uipxlwaOVQ5f@public.gmane.org
Subject: Re: [TortoiseCVS] Rename a history file so that it can be used

 

Jennifer Edelstein wrote: 

 Ok. I added comments to yours in red below.

 

Now the program was to be passed to the service department.   So,
Person2 copied the 'Project A' folder from the 'Projects' folder on his
laptop and pasted it into the 'Service' folder on his laptop.  He then
performed an 'add contents' , 'update' and 'commit.'  

It is a very bad idea to copy folders under CVS control - there is a
hidden folder named 'CVS' inside each folder. If this gets copied too,
CVS will assume that the copied folder is still in the original
location.
He performed a 'release(delete cvs control files only)' before copy and
pasting.

Right. That should be OK then.



 

 Next, he deleted the 'Project A' folder in the 'Projects' folder on his
laptop and performed a 'commit.'   

Did he do a CVS Remove, or did he simply delete the folder?
Since he had performed a 'release', he deleted it, and then 'updated' to
get the cvs files back on his laptop, then he performed a 'remove.'




 

Now, this was all done over a month ago and , just recently, I realized
that the files in the 'Service' folder are not the most current files
that would have been on Person1's laptop.    Person1 is no longer with
the company and, unfortunately, he was our cvs guru.  Since, Person1
knew the most about cvs, I am assuming that he did actually commit the
correct files; and, that Person2 did not do an update before moving the
files on his computer.  

 

Would this scenario then leave Person1's 'history' files on the server
in the 'Projects' repository.  

Yes, they would be unchanged. If Person2 did a CVS Remove and not just a
delete, it will be slightly more complicated to retrieve the files, but
still possible.

So, he did do a 'remove'.   But, retrieving the files is still possible?

Yes. The easiest way is to do an Update Special on the 'Project A'
folder, specifying a date and time just before Person1 performed the CVS
Remove/Commit.

-Torsten

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Let Crystal Reports handle the reporting - Free Crystal Reports 2008 30-Day 
trial. Simplify your report design, integration and deployment - and focus on 
what you do best, core application coding. Discover what's new with
Crystal Reports now.  http://p.sf.net/sfu/bobj-july

_______________________________________________
tortoisecvs-users mailing list
tortoisecvs-users-5NWGOfrQmneRv+LV9MX5uipxlwaOVQ5f@public.gmane.org
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/tortoisecvs-users
lmpx.com only provides a reader for public news (NNTP) servers. It is not affiliated with the servers or forums shown here and is not responsible for the content of articles, which is written by their respective authors.