RE: existing users upgrading to 3.5
"rojomn" <[email protected]>
| Newsgroups | gmane.comp.web.pixory |
|---|---|
| Message-ID | <[email protected]> |
Except after install I am treated as an anonymous and cannot get to the user page. How do I do that. How do I allow myself to have all access when I am upgrading. Lacking that, how do I started over? I deleted all but the did nothing for me. > -----Original Message----- > From: Joe Panico [mailto:[email protected]] > Sent: Monday, January 26, 2004 7:15 AM > To: [email protected] > Subject: [pixory-beta] existing users upgrading to 3.5 > > A few notes: > > You absolutely _should_ back up your Pixory database before > upgrading to 3.5. > > The Pixory database is a "hidden" directory named ".pixory" > in your home directory. You should first shutdown the Pixory > application before backing up (copying) the database. > > > > Prior to release 3.5, there were two ways (modes) to share an > album in Pixory. These were controlled in the album editor > section entitled "access". > > The default mode, which had no name, was to share by sending > out the album URL to the people you want to share with. This > method employs "security through obscurity", because each > album URL (which is static over the lifetime of the album) > includes a long unique random key. > This key is, for all practical purposes, impossible to guess. > Thus, the only people who can access the album are those you > have shared the URL with. Beyond "security through > obscurity", there were no access control mechanisms prior to > 3.5. In 3.4, all "viewers" were anonymous, that is they never > authenticated (logged in), so Pixory never knew who they were. > > The other pre-3.5 sharing mode was "make this album public". > All public albums appeared on the "Public Catalog" page. > > In 3.5, even though there are 2 new modes, the default > behaviour should be exactly the same as in 3.4. That is, the > default mode is "anonymous url", which is the same default > as in 3.4 and works the exact same way. Public albums also > work the same way. > > So the bottom line is that if you upgrade to 3.5, your album > sharing settings from the previous release should be > preserved and the application should behave as it did in 3.4 > until you change the sharing settings to one of the new modes. > > regards, > > joe > > > > > > ------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor > ---------------------~--> Upgrade to 128-bit SSL Security! > http://us.click.yahoo.com/qZ0LdD/yjVHAA/TtwFAA/EGnolB/TM > -------------------------------------------------------------- > -------~-> > > Yahoo! Groups Links > > To visit your group on the web, go to: > http://groups.yahoo.com/group/pixory-beta/ > > To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to: > [email protected] > > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to: > http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/ > > > ------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~--> Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark Printer at MyInks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada. http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511 http://us.click.yahoo.com/mOAaAA/3exGAA/qnsNAA/EGnolB/TM ---------------------------------------------------------------------~-> Yahoo! Groups Links To visit your group on the web, go to: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/pixory-beta/ To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to: [email protected] Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to: http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/